One of the Easiest Ways to Brighten Up Your Day (Plus, Links!)

Back when I lived on the Upper East Side, I used to go to the Metropolitan Museum of Art about once a month (and sometimes a lot more than that). But since I moved to Brooklyn, I haven’t been the semi-regular that I once was. Yesterday, I went for the first time in probably eight months (I have two college friends in town visiting from North Carolina, so I wanted to take them). Before we got to the museum, I’d felt a little low-energy—after all, we’d been running around all weekend. But the second we stepped inside, I felt instantly re-energized and just generally at ease. I’m pretty sure I also had a goofy grin on my face a lot of the time we were there. Here’s a small sampling of some of the amazing pieces we saw there:

photo 1 (9)

photo 2 (7)

photo 3 (7)

 

Going back to the Met made me realize how much of a happy place it is for me—my mood improved significantly the moment we got there. Turns out, I’m not the only one who gets a little giddy around art. I found this article about a 2011 study that explains four of the top six happiest activities are arts-related, according to preliminary research out of the London School of Economics. Here’s the full list:

1. Intimacy/making love
2. Sports/running/exercise
3. Theatre/dance/concert
4. Singing/performing
5. Exhibition/museum/library
6. Hobbies/arts/crafts

Pretty amazing, right? All you have to do to be happier is take an art break. Of course, you don’t have to go to a world-class museum to get a happiness boost (although it can’t hurt if you have the chance!). I’ve noticed that I get a little lift even when I just stop to appreciate street art or look at some of my favorite paintings online. This week, I’m going to remember that when I need a mental pick-me-up. Here’s what else is on my health and wellness radar right now:

Have a well-intentioned week!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

