What’s Your Favorite Bridge Run?

Today’s my last day vacationing in Charleston, so I wanted to make sure to get in a good run. I went to the Arthur Ravenel Junior Bridge in Charleston, South Carolina (the one you cross in the famous Cooper River Bridge Run, which I did in 2013) and went for an absolutely gorgeous 4-mile run. Take a look at some of the photos I took while on the bridge:

photo 5 (2)

photo 3 (6)

photo 1 (8)

photo 2 (6)

And here’s one that I didn’t technically take while I was on my run, but I took it right afterward from a nearby park (you can actually see two different views of the bridge if you look closely at the edges):

photo (11)

Beautiful, right? I think bridges may be one of my favorite places to go for runs (before I hurt my heels, I did the Williamsburg Bridge all the time since I live so close to it). But something I realized this morning is that, had I not known someone who lives in Charleston who could tell me exactly where to park and how to get on the foot path, I probably wouldn’t have bothered running the bridge. And the only other bridge runs I can even think of are the Golden Gate Bridge and ones in New York City (believe it or not, I still have yet to run the Brooklyn Bridge).

When I did a search for bridge runs online, I quickly realized how difficult it is to find a list of bridges with foot paths that make great places to run. It’s just one of those things that locals who are into running know all about—and tourists don’t. Which is why I want to pass the baton here and ask you to share your favorite bridge run. Are there any I should make sure to add to my running bucket list? Please share your suggestions in the comments!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

