This Week in Wellness (Links!)

Happy Sunday! I hope you’re all having a lovely Memorial Day Weekend. This week, I visited Maryland to attend my brother’s graduation ceremonies at the University of Maryland. Here’s a couple of photos of me with the graduate (the two ceremonies were held on Thursday and Friday, in case you’re wondering why I’m wearing different outfits!):

photo-43

photo-44

I stayed at my parents’ house in Gaithersburg, MD, while I was in town and took the opportunity to go through some of my old stuff. I ended up finding a lot of the artwork I created while I was in college. Here are a couple of my favorites:

photo-45

photo-47

Definitely not anything pro-level, but they were a lot of fun to make! Seeing them again reminded me how much I enjoy painting and drawing (and how relaxing it can be), so I think I’ll make a point to sign up for some kind of class back in NYC soon (I find I make things like this more of a priority when I’m taking a class on them). Here’s what else I have on my health and wellness radar this week:

  • Make this yummy-looking (and healthy!) cake batter smoothie. Did I mention I got a blender recently? Can’t wait to try lots of fun new recipes using it!
  • Remind myself that “reverse-progress” isn’t always a bad thing. I’m loving these before-and-after photos women posted of themselves after they stopped obsessing about working out and gained a little weight.
  • Do more research on Emotional Freedom Technique. I found this woman’s story about how the technique helped her lose 30 pounds (it involves tapping different “energy meridians” on your body) incredibly compelling.
  • Use these smart tips to get a better night’s sleep.
  • Consciously avoid calorie counting. I love The Real Life RD’s recent post on how it’s impossible to ever know exactly how many calories you’re consuming or burning—and how the best strategy is to make an effort to listen and respond to your body’s hunger cues.
  • Sign up for an outdoor yoga class. I took a couple of these last summer, and it really helped energize my yoga practice to get a change of scenery.
  • Get a haircut! And I’m definitely going to follow these tips on how to avoid a hair salon nightmare.
  • Try this pool workout (I’m going to Miami on Wednesday for a friend’s bachelorette party!).
  • Share this moving post from Cakespy about eating disorders. Now, Jessie Oleson Moore is an incredibly popular dessert blogger. But Jessie actually has a history of disordered eating—and took her a long time to get to a point where she felt like she deserved to eat and enjoy delicious things without guilt. Such an important message to spread.

Have a well-intentioned week!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

