The First Few Days of Spring

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 3.14.38 PM

It’s a beautiful day in New York!

I was born on the first day of spring. (Kind of a fun coincidence that my name is Robin—but my mom swears she picked it out years in advance!) My birthday was a couple of weeks ago, but the weather in New York City has been refusing to cooperate. Today, though, it seems like we might have finally turned a corner. I wore a trench coat for the first time (instead of one of my now-very-worn puffy coats), put on a spring-y dress, and even contemplated wearing it without tights! (Key word: contemplated.)

Isn’t it funny how a very palpable city-wide mood change takes place on those first few days of spring? Today, I saw people standing up straight and smiling as they sipped their iced coffees. That’s quite a change from the hunched-over shoulders and hurried strides that were everywhere on Monday morning, when it was rainy/snowy. Think about what a toll this extended polar vortex has been taking on our mental wellness! I don’t want to jinx anything, but I could get used to this… (P.S. How cute is this spring dress from Anthropologie?!)

Clearly, for me, finally being able to wear fun, colorful clothing that isn’t made from sweater-like material is a key sign that spring is here. For some people I know, switching from hot coffee to iced is what really gets them excited about the new season. What’s your happy “it’s officially spring!” moment each year?

Leave a Reply

